South Carolina Picture Project

Columbia Central Fire Station — Columbia, South Carolina

SC Picture Project  |  Richland County  |  Columbia Central Fire Station

Adopt A South Carolina Landmark
Columbia Central Fire Station

Located in Columbia‘s Vista, the Columbia Central Fire Department building serves as a noteworthy example of Moderne architecture. Designed by South Carolina architect Heyward Singley, it also stands as a reminder of segregation in the realm of public service. Construction on the building began in 1949 and was completed in 1950 with the addition of the drill tower in 1951. It housed the Columbia Fire Department headquarters for 45 years until that body moved to its current headquarters on Laurel Street in 1995.

Columbia Fire Station

Bill Fitzpatrick of Taylors, 2012 © Do Not Use Without Written Consent

Though African-Americans have a history of contributing to public safety as volunteer firefighters and later as employees, their roles were diminished until the mid-twentieth century. All firefighters began as volunteers in segregated fire companies in Columbia during the nineteenth century. In 1892 the black companies were disbanded, leaving some former firefighters to join white companies as drivers of horse-drawn firetrucks – but not as firefighters. By 1903 all volunteer companies were dissolved and the Columbia Fire Department was formed, hiring 40 white firefighters and six black drivers.

Columbia Central Fire Station

Bill Fitzpatrick of Taylors, 2012 © Do Not Use Without Written Consent

Four companies initially emerged: the Palmetto State Fire Engine Company No. 2 on Blanding Street, the Phoenix Hook and Ladder Company on Assembly Street, the Independent Steam Fire Engine Company on Washington Street, and the Columbia Steam Engine Company No. 3 on Main Street. The following year in 1904, another station was built on Sumter Street, where the Independent Steam Company was relocated and renamed Engine Company No. 1. By 1910 motorized vehicles were incorporated with the horse-drawn trucks, and by 1916 horses became obsolete – as did their drivers. As a result, African-Americans employed by the fire companies were demoted to jobs such as janitors.

In 1936 the fire stations were consolidated, and the Sumter Street address became the new headquarters. By the late 1940s the city was ready for a newer, larger headquarters, and Singley was hired to design the building – at the time the largest firehouse in the state. In keeping with its Moderne style, it is mainly function with little form, excepting only its Art Deco iron balconies. The building served as headquarters until 1995, falling into disrepair some years before its use as headquarters ended. Today the building is utilized by the city for storage.

The Columbia Central Fire Station is listed in the National Register, which adds the following:

The Columbia Central Fire Station, constructed between 1949 and 1951, is significant as an excellent example of Moderne architecture of the early 1950s and for its association with noted South Carolina architect Heyward S. Singley. Singley designed several fire stations in Columbia between 1940 and 1954. The Columbia Central Fire Station is not only the largest but also the most architecturally distinctive of Singley’s designs. A fine example of the Moderne/International style, with its relative lack of ornamentation, flat roof, and horizontal bands of windows, the Columbia Central Fire Station consists of two buildings and a structure. The main building, a two-story masonry fire station with a rectangular plan, and the fire truck garage building, a one-story masonry building located in the northeast corner of the property, were constructed in 1949-50. The drill tower, a six-story reinforced concrete structure located near the northwest corner of the site, was constructed in 1951.

Columbia Central Fire Station Info

Address: 1001 Senate Street, Columbia, SC 29201
GPS Coordinates: 33.999262,-81.036247

Columbia Central Fire Station Map

Please Share Your Thoughts!

Did you enjoy this page? Do you have any information we should add? Send us your comments below — we can't wait to hear from you!


Join Us on Facebook
Search for Landmarks


Abbeville ACE Basin Adams Run Aiken Allendale Anderson Awendaw Bamberg Banks Barns & Farms Barnwell Batesburg-Leesville Beaches Beaufort Beech Island Belton Bennettsville Bishopville Blackville Bluffton Bridges Bygone Landmarks Camden Carnegie Libraries Cayce Cemeteries Charleston Charleston Navy Base Cheraw Chester Chesterfield Churches Clemson Clinton Clio Colleges Columbia Conway Cordesville Courthouses Darlington Daufuskie Island Denmark Dillon Donalds Easley Edgefield Edisto Elloree Fairfax Florence Folly Beach Forests and Nature Preserves Fort Mill Fountain Inn Gaffney Garden City Beach Georgetown Glenn Springs Graniteville Greeleyville Greenville Greenwood Greer Hamburg Hampton Hardeeville Hartsville Hemingway Hilton Head Historical Photos Historic Houses Honea Path Hopkins Huger Hunting Island Isle of Palms Jails James Island Jamestown Johns Island Johnsonville Johnston Kiawah Island Kingstree Lake City Lake Marion Lakes Lancaster Landrum Latta Laurens Lexington Libraries Lighthouses Little River Manning Marion McClellanville McCormick Military Mills Moncks Corner Mountains Mount Carmel Mount Pleasant Mullins Murrells Inlet Myrtle Beach National Register Newberry Ninety Six North Augusta North Charleston North Myrtle Beach Orangeburg Pacolet Parks Pawleys Island Pendleton Pickens Piers Pinopolis Plantations Pomaria Port Royal Post Offices Ravenel Restaurants Ridge Spring Ridgeway Rivers Roadside Oddities Robert Mills Rock Hill Rockville Rosenwald Schools Salters Saluda Savannah River Site SC Artists SC Heroes of the Alamo Schools Seneca Shrimp Boats Society Hill Spartanburg Sports Springs St. George St. Helena Island St. Matthews Stores Sullivan's Island Summerton Summerville Sumter Sunset Sunsets Synagogues Town Clocks Trains & Depots Trees Trenton Troy Turbeville Ulmer Union Wadmalaw Island Walhalla Walterboro Waterfalls Water Towers West Columbia Westminster Winnsboro Woodruff Yemassee York