Georgetown Harborwalk — Georgetown, South Carolina
SC Picture Project | Georgetown County | Georgetown Harborwalk
Georgetown – South Carolina’s third oldest city after Charleston and Beaufort – offers a vibrant mix of history and charm. Just behind the historic district along Front Street lies the Georgetown Harborwalk. The Harborwalk meanders along the edge of the Sampit River, which empties into Winyah Bay.
The Harborwalk begins beside the stunning Kaminski House, which stands next to the equally stunning Stewart-Parker House. Both are operated today as museums, and visitors can reach the Harborwalk directly from their grounds.
Walking further along the Harborwalk, visitors can glimpse wildlife playing in the river, boats passing by, trawlers bringing in the day’s catch, and the sunrise or sunset. Fishing is enjoyed by many, and artists have been known to set up easels to paint the beautiful surroundings. There are also numerous restaurants to satisfy anyone’s cravings.
History is never far away in the Lowcountry, but it is especially close at hand in Georgetown. The old Town Clock houses the Rice Museum, and the prized Fresnel lens from the old Georgetown Lighthouse now rests in the South Carolina Maritime Museum.
The Harborwalk plays host to the annual Georgetown Wooden Boat Show. This show is one of our country’s largest celebrations of maritime culture, and it features a boat-building competition, race, maritime crafts, food, and live music.
The two cannons seen below were originally part of a Confederate defense system at Battery White, near Georgetown. Afterwards they were installed in front of the United States Naval Defense building on Front Street. Today, the cannons flank the entrance of the Harborwalk near Constitution Park.
On September 25, 2013 a fire broke out along Front Street, nearly destroying eight historic buildings. Nevertheless, Georgetown has persevered and continues to grow. The Georgetown Harborwalk is included in the National Register:
Third oldest city in South Carolina, Georgetown is significant historically, militarily, agriculturally and architecturally. Georgetown was laid out as a city in 1729. In 1735 Georgetown was conveyed to three trustees. A plan of the city was attached to the deed and was the first plan to be preserved. Included in the plan were 174.5 acres for the town and 100 acres for a commons. The town acreage was divided into blocks by five streets running at right angles to the river. Much physical evidence of the past remains. The oldest existing structure in Georgetown is a dwelling which dates from ca. 1737. There are approximately twenty-eight additional 18th century structures as well as eighteen buildings erected during the 19th century prior to the Civil War. The existing structures—homes, churches, public buildings—are of both historical and architectural significance and are situated on heavily shaded, wide streets. The architecture ranges from the simplicity of early colonial, or Georgian, to the elaborate rice plantation era, such as Classical Revival. Listed in the National Register October 14, 1971.
You may not use them in any form without written consent.